Let’s check it out together: Psalm 73

The Psalmist in chapter 73 battled with worship. The fight was in who he was to worship. When we look around society, life, daily activities, etc., there are beautiful things to behold. When I go to the mall, the clothes, the shoes, the makeup choices, accessories, decorations, and lovely things are all around me. It doesn’t stop with or begin with things that are so enticing to worship, but people. There are beautiful people, smart people, funny people, handsome people, cute little babies, and all could easily be worshiped. I could go into other forms of things that can be worshiped like jobs, status, financial gains, locations, vacations, and on and on. This world has it all. It’s just a matter of finding what it is to worship and the heart could be captivated by it and given over to it.

If you noticed, I have used the words could or can. That’s because there is always a choice. Our hearts could be captivated by this world, and the Psalmist’s heart was. He was envious of the “fat and the sleek”. “For I was envious of the arrogant when I saw the prosperity of the wicked.”  Read for yourself  verses 4-15 how he agonized over the freedom the wicked indulged in the things of this world.

But then, the Psalmist, in this state of weariness, went into the sanctuary of God. His eyes were then open. He saw things for what they were. He was able to discern ‘their’ end. God graced him further. The Psalmist not only saw that the wicked were destroyed in a moment, but God showed him his heart. Brutish! Ignorant! A beast towards God!

This is grace. This is unfailing love. God allowed for the Psalmist to repent and trust in God. God did not leave the Psalmist to agonize and lament over the wicked and to be stuck in a rut. No, God opened the eyes of his heart in order for the Psalmist to confess with his mouth: “Whom have I in heaven but You? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides You.” This realization of the Psalmist standing before God was declared in verses 26 & 27.

Then finally, the last verse provides each of us with the proper perspective of how we are to live: “But for me it is good to be near God; I have made the Lord GOD my refuge, that I may tell of all your works.”

How can you and I be nearer to God? One particular verse helps me quite a bit with this answer: Proverbs 28:13 “Whoever conceals his transgressions will not prosper, but he who confesses and forsakes them will obtain mercy.”

Dear Heavenly Father, Just like the Psalmist, I too envy the prosperous. I look on the ones who have no pains and I have great jealousy in my heart. May You be delighted to show me truth, in Your word and Your way of how wrong I have it, and how good it is to forsake that kind of thinking and turn and trust in You. Your promises are written all over the bible. Coupled with the promises are Your commands. Let me be known for one to follow Your commands. Then I will receive Your promises. I wait for You to create in me a clean heart. You are a great God. Oh, Abba, Father, may You do far more than I could ask of think. In Jesus precious Name I pray these things. Amen.

