Philippians 4:8 “….think about these things. What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me- practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.”

Another word for excellence: virtue

Another word for praise:commendation

Matthew Henry’s commentary from Philippians 4: “Believers are to get and to keep a good name; a name for good things with God and good men. We should walk in all the ways of virtue, and abide  therein; then, whether our praise is of men or not, it will be of God. The apostle is an example. His doctrine and life agreed together. The way to have the God of peace with us, is to keep close to our duty. All our privileges and salvation arise in the mercy of God; yet the enjoyment of them depends on our sincere and holy conduct. These are works of God,pertaining to God, and to him only are they to be ascribed, and to no other; neither men, words, nor deeds.”

Abba Father,

Give me a heart like the heart described in Philippians…I am in need of your grace to do what you ask. Left to myself, I fall, but You lift me up and I worship Jesus for this.

Amen.

 

