If the Lord wills it, in twelve days from today, I’ll be boarding a flight overseas with a group of 7 that I’m traveling with. I am so afraid to fly. It’s no small thing. I’ve been anxious since I told the team leader last December that I would like to go on the trip. You’re probably wondering, “Rosie, why are you doing this to yourself? Why would you go forward and do something that frightens you?” You may have more questions, but I’m just guessing these thoughts may be crossing your mind. Why am I going overseas on a 14+ hour total flight? Because I knew saying “Yes” to this kind of trip would allow lots and lots of room for God to work on my heart and be a major sanctifying work on my heart. I’m not saying I can determine what God would sanctify me with and what He won’t. I knew and felt God saying to me, “Rosie, trust and obey me. Go on the trip. There’s going to be lots and lots of trials that come from this decision, but trust me. (Isaiah 41:10)Free not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

There’s something very good to be broken and to trust God in the process. I’ve been “getting” broken a lot these days. Psalm 119:71 “It is good for me that  I was afflicted, that I might learn your statues.”

So, Lord willing, I will fly, by the grace of God, be taught to trust in Him and I hope and pray to write a poem or song of adoration once I return! I so desire to surrender my will and live in the will of God my Heavenly Father: Our Heavenly Father. I need rescuing from myself. And then I will be able to say, as the Psalmist said in chapter 73: “Whom have I in heaven but you? And there  is nothing on earth that I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever…but for me it is good to be near God; I have made the LORD GOD my refuge, that I may tell of all your works.”

Many blessings to you this night. May you, too, trust and obey, treasure, and love our Heavenly Father’s commandments and promises as you call upon Jesus as your LORD and Savior by the strength of the Holy Spirit at work with in you from this day and forever more. (John 14:16 And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Helper, to be with you forever.”)

