Proverbs 6:16-19 ESV “There are six things that the LORD hates, seven that are an abomination to him: haughty eyes, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood, a heart that devises wicked plans, feet that make haste to run to evil, a false witness who breathes out lies, and one who sows discord among brothers.”

I don’t know about you, but I typically take in a few deep breaths each time I read these verses from Proverbs. Let’s just take a look at the first abomination before the LORD: Haughty Eyes. I was chatting with my friends Tom and Vickie the other day and I brought up why I have been hesitate to continue blogging. More often than not, I find creeping up inside of me this sense of “I have it figured out and others need to hear what  I have to say”. To go one step further, “blogging, I tell myself, will help accomplish my god-given ability to share with others all the good things I’m learning. I’ll be sure to include cute pictures and a sentimental thought along the way, which indirectly gives me the praise.”

Dear friends, sin is ugly. Let me repeat that again. ugly; U-G-L-Y; ugly. It makes a person ugly on the inside and out and all around. But if it ended there, then what’s the point of discussion? The end result is separation from God. He hates haughtiness. God of the universe. The God who created the heavens and the earth and who knows my ever thought. He knows your thoughts too. Right now. He knows if you are judging others or thinking more highly of yourself than you should. He knows everything and He’s perfect. He also knows I cannot do ‘a lick’ on my own. I need Him, desperately.

So then what?

Here’s the then what: I’m greatly helped by Dr. Martyn Lloyd-Jones these past couple of months. He wrote two books, later combined to be called Faith Tried and Triumphant. It’s a must read if you are in need of encouragement in your walk with God. There’s a comment he makes at the end of the book, that has awakened me in my prayer life in ways that I didn’t know I was free to pray:

“We need not worry about this, because, if we are Christians at all, we know that, however much we may have sinned, however much wrong we may have done to others and to ourselves, if at this moment we come to God and confess our sins, admitting that we cannot undo them or save ourselves, and trusting entirely in the Son of God and what he has done on our behalf, by his life of obedience and his sacrificial saving death, we are accepted of God, we are reconciled to God, we are in communion with God. That is the way. Yes, but remember to keep near to God. That is this man’s resolve.” [referring to the psalmist in Psalm 73]

So what do YOU think about all this?

