Psalm 142: With my voice I cry out to the LORD; with my voice I plead for mercy to the LORD. I pour out my complaint before him; I tell my trouble before him. When my spirit faints within me, you know my way! In the path where I walk they have hidden a trap for me. Look to the right and see: there is none who takes notice of me; no refuge remains to me; no one cares for my soul. I cry to you, O LORD; I say, “You are my refuge, my portion in the land of the living.” Attend to my cry, for I am brought very low! Deliver me from my persecutors, for they are too strong for me! Bring me out of prison, that I may give thanks to your name! The righteous will surround me, for you will deal bountifully with me.

Last week I had an opportunity to chat with a friend about what our relationship is with God as a result of Jesus Christ’s completed work on the cross. As we were talking together, she encouraged me by pointing me back to Christ as the one I should be pouring out my complaints to. God gave me Psalm 142 at the start of this week and it was helpful to take what my friend said, and apply it to scripture. If you find yourself in a place this evening to trust in yourself and/or another person as your protector/refuge, God has a much better suggestion. Our struggle may be to continually trust in ourselves until God calls us home, but Psalm 142  sheds lots of light and clarity. We, as God’s children, are able to model what King David did before our LORD God. He poured out his complaint regarding the trouble he was in, and within that time there were periods of great loneliness: Psalm 142: 4b “…no one cares for my soul.” At the end of the chapter, there is still a tension there. Will God be faithful to His promises? Will He follow through with protecting His own from all harm? At this point, faith comes in.  Hebrews 11:1 is where we are able to camp and rest for the evening: “Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.”

We all struggle and more importantly, Jesus knew this to be true. I’ll close tonight with Matthew 11:28-30: Jesus is talking here: “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

Thank you, Jesus, for knowing and loving me through it all.

Childhood Song: “Through it all. Through it all. Oh, I learned to trust in Jesus; I learned to trust in God. Through it all; through it all; Oh, I learned to depend upon His word.”

