1 John 3:1 “See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are.” This verse came to mind this morning over breakfast as I read the last portion of Jesus’ High Priestly Prayer from John 17: 26 “I [Jesus] made known to them your [God the Father] name, and I will continue to make it known, that the love with which you have loved me may be in them, and I in them.” What incredible sacrifice! Is it possible there was something I did to receive such love? Romans 5:8 helps here: “but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Oh- I did nothing. Actually, I could do nothing righteous on my own unless God allowed it to be awakened in me. [Big sigh] …

Dear Heavenly Father, Thank you for the beautiful sunshine this morning. Thank you for my breakfast too. I go about things thinking I contributed to your gift of salvation. I’m sorry. Help me rest in You this day. I rejoice when I read 1 Peter 2:25 “For you were straying like sheep, but have now returned to the Shepherd and Overseer of your souls.” Thank you for 1 Peter 1:25b “And this word is the good news that was preached to you.” All in Jesus’ Name. Amen.

