Today I went and got a pedicure. It’s been a long, full week and I thought to myself, “This should do the trick!” For the hour it was great. The person working on my feet even let me sleep/rest in the vibrating-leather-recliner-chair after they were all finished. Blowing with every rotation nearby was a fan. It was very ideal with the hot weather outside. The music in the background was soothing and the lights were dimmed. Everything in there was set up for comfort and ease.

What really amazes me though, is I experienced great comfort and rest right before I left for the pedicure. It’s in Matthew 11:28-30 ESV “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” It’s Jesus talking here. It’s Jesus. Son of man, Son of God, our great high priest who is ever interceding on our behalf as we fumble and labor through things. He’s gentle and lowly in heart. Gentle? Can you think of someone who was gentle with you this week? If so, you experienced a glimpse of what our Saviour is to us as we find rest for our souls. It’s our souls that need rest. Achy feet? Well, yes, a pedicure can help with achy feet. But Jesus is rest. I want to go to the source of rest, peace, comfort. We can get tired, and conflicts/trials can creep up and stay for a while. We have a source of rest, though. It’s Jesus. I’m fixing my mind on Jesus tonight. It’s a beautiful, spring evening and I’m praising Jesus this night for the rest He promises to those who seek Him.

As I would say with the little nursery kids on Sunday evenings, “Yay! God! Yay! Jesus!

Sleeping well this night.

